Fayose approves N253.6m as bursary, scholarship for Ekiti students

Fayose approves N253.6m as bursary, scholarship for Ekiti students

GOVERNOR Ayodele Fayose of Ekiti State has approved N253.6 million for 2017/2018 Bursary and Scholarship awards to qualified students in the state, with 871 students getting scholarship award ranging from N60,000 to N1.5 million while 2,645 got bursary award ranging from N10,000 to N150,000.A statement by the government, on Wednesday, also said 30 overseas PhD students would get N1,500,000 each as scholarship amounting to N45 million; 184 Law students would receive N150,000 each as a bursary, amounting to N27.6 million while 450 undergraduates would receive N60,000 each as scholarship, amounting to N27 million.

The statement quoted the state’s Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Mr Jide Egunjobi, to have explained that “15 physically challenged students will get N60,000 as scholarship while 198 students offering Masters Degree in Nigeria will receive N250,000.

“17 overseas Masters Degree students will also get N500, 000 each, while 160 PhD students (Nigeria) will receive N750,000.”


According to the statement, “the Commissioner disclosed that Governor Fayose approved the disbursement of scholarship and bursary awards to the qualified students in the state after verification,” adding that “payment will be made into verified bank accounts of beneficiaries to avoid manipulation.”

He had also explained that “the disbursement will be in tranches.”

He said: “The first tranche is a scholarship for 450 undergraduate and 15 physically challenged students. The disbursement to their banks would commence on today, 21st March 2018.

“Other tranches would follow as soon as the disbursement is completed”, Egunjobi said.

The Commissioner stated that Governor Ayo Fayose had earlier disbursed the outstanding 2012/2013 bursary awards in four tranches to 7,070 students at the rate of N10,000 per student which amounted to N70 million.

The statement added that Egunjobi added that “Ajayi Yemisi Caroline of the Federal Polytechnic, Ado Ekiti was schemed for Federal scholarship for two years at N100,000 per session, while Ala Oluwapelumi Adebayo, the best candidate in NECO Examination in 2015/2016, was given entrenched scholarship award at the University of Ibadan to study Surgery at N850,000 per session.

“Adedipe Oluwatosin of the Sheppard Group of Schools was given N2.5 million Scholarship Award for excellent performance.”

The Commissioner implored the beneficiaries to use the money judiciously.